Brain-Pain, Facebook & Me

Image

I have a pain in my brain, just above & behind my right ear. It feels like a loathsome clot of putrescent death worming it’s way through the blood-rich pulpy mass, a knob of metastasizing alien cells heralding some god-awful cerebral hemorrhage.

My good fb friend Sol Black posted this morning about the many fb-status horror stories he’d been reading lately concerning this or that person’s tragedies, calamities, devastations & woes, and concluded: “I wouldn’t tell you if I had cancer.” It made me consider what I’d do, and I have to say I agree with him. Maybe a brief announcement, maybe an update or two….but I don’t know if I’d do even that….there has to be a place where flesh’n’bloods share only with other flesh’n’bloods the most intimate details of their hearts, the profoundest longing of their souls. I’m sure others feel differently, especially those who have gained a degree of emotional support from the commiseration of strangers; and I understand the cathartic benefit of talking about our problems, but please, get a room….private messaging is the perfect alternative to such horror-story public statuses & the deluge of comments that follow.

So I will refrain from telling you about this brain-pain, that I really do have (it began yesterday morning & has been writhing ever since), and abjure any temptation I may harbor to explain how the throbbing is pulsating & percussive or how a pus-like slime has been oozing from my ear.


About j. j. marino

As a creaky & cranky a-social agoraphobic anchorite, living in seclusion in the Great North Woods & keeping centered by the Power of the Written Word, a blog would seem to be a fat pitch in my strike zone.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. priceless! I agree whole heartedly!

  2. I, also, agree. And thank you.

  3. Oh so true. I could not agree more. The value of the private devalued by the sky-rocketing currency of the public. Or vice-versa depending on your view šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

